Naming the Lenses: Part 7

Posted by Administrator on 2/18/2014 to Critical Thinking

The seventh lens of worldviews is the new age lens. This worldview promotes spirituality without religion.

Lens #7—New Age

  • It doesn’t matter what the nature of being may be (whether energy, particle, matter, or idea).
  • Human beings grow in their awareness of self, and that is how the human race will change most for the good of all.
  • There are two dimensions in the cosmos, which are unified to the self: the visible universe (accessed through ordinary consciousness), and the invisible universe (also known as the Mind at Large), which is accessed through altered states of consciousness.
  • Because of this cosmic consciousness, the categories of time, peace, and morality are rather vague or inconsequential.
  • Physical death is not the end of the self, and the concept of reincarnation makes the fear of death nonexistent. When humans achieve a state of God-consciousness, they understand reality.
  • The final goal is the deification of humanity, particularly the individual human self. This premise means that the history of the past is not as interesting as the great hope of knowing the Mind at Large.

Movies with a New Age Lens

[Note: As with all film listings, please determine each movie’s suitability for your own family. Please do not interpret a film’s inclusion in a list of examples as Zeezok Publishing’s promotion of or agreement with that film.]

  • The Green Mile
  • Finding Nemo
  • Eat Pray Love
  • Inception
  • The Star Wars trilogy also demonstrates the New Age lens